What is Oolong (烏龍) Tea?

General Description

All types of true tea* are coming from the Camellia sinensis plant, a shrub native to China and India. These include White, Green, Oolong, Black, and Pu-erh Teas. The difference between them is the degree of fermentation involved.

*Strictly speaking, tea made from other plants (for example African Rooibos Tea) are not true teas but should be considered herbal teas – a general term for any beverage made from the infusion or decoction of herbs, spices, or other plant material in hot water.


Taiwanese Oolong Tea

Although the Taiwanese tea plant originally came from China in the 19th century, it has gained its own uniqueness due to the different climate conditions and continuous experimentation in the craft of tea making. Of all tea types from the far East, the part fermented tea, Oolong, is special because of its smooth texture, fine taste and a light sweetness that lingers in the throat after drinking.

Taiwanese Oolong Tea can be categorized into 3 main types depending on the degree of fermentation, from low to high, BāoZhǒng (包種), TiěGuānYīn (鐵觀音) and BáiHáo Oolong (白毫烏龍). This year’s Oolong Tea is a DòngDǐng Oolong (凍頂烏龍) from the Mount Dòng Dǐng (凍頂山) in LùGǔ Town (鹿谷鄉), Nán Tóu County (南投縣).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Quick Shop

Summer holiday notice. All orders placed between 28.08 and 12.08.2018 will be dispatched after 15.08.2018 Dismiss